Novice at DIY, remodeling bathroom and need your help, please [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Novice at DIY, remodeling bathroom and need your help, please

tama
03-06-2007, 01:34 PM
Hi all ;)

I'm a novice at DYI, so I am having to rely on books, internet, and people at home improvement stores to get resources, but I am getting some conflicting or not enough information when it comes to tiling.
I will have many questions along the way, but I will post them as I go.

My first question is how to determine wheather or not the floor is level enough for tiling.

I've learned the existing wood subfloor is suitable for tile installation. However, this subfloor has some high and low spots. (The high spots are in the middle.)

First, I was told by a professional tile installer that I will have to pour some kind of compound (I forgot the name), which will act as tile underlayment (I will not need to use cement board on top of it). Then, I was told by another remodeling professional that the floor is level enough that I can just place cement board over mortar, and that will make the floor completely level. Finally, I went to Home Depot and was told that I may want to to put leveling compound, which will NOT act as an underlayment, so I will have to put cement board on top of the compound. ...Well, which advice should I follow? :scratch:

I'm guessing I will have to take some kind of measurements to determine if the high and low spots exceed the requirements, but I have no idea where and how to take measurements.
Sorry that my first question seems so dumb compared to other people's questions, but I appreciate any help and suggestions.

Sponsored Links

JohnP
03-06-2007, 01:47 PM
Is to get as much information to the people here on this site such as:
1. How is the floor framed (joist sizes, spacing, directions)