possibly retiling 1960's houston ranch- typical floor construction? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : possibly retiling 1960's houston ranch- typical floor construction?

acid
03-05-2007, 10:32 PM
I have a 1962 houston,tx ranch style house. The prior owners had removed the orginial laminate in the kitchen/ den (~~300sq. ft.) and installed blah sterile white 12" tiles. I am debating removing them versus just tiling over. The current tiles have been in the house ~8 years and show zero cracks/shifting/etc... 2 scenarios with differenent consequences/labor challenges:
1)tile over them-
-must sand floor to rough it up
-would have to slightly raise and reframe new door I put in the back door (about 1/4" -1/2" too low- but I have installed 3 new doors in the house so I have some experience
-will create a .25" transition to living room, and a .75" transition to hallway by bedrooms- too much??
-might have to remove prior moulding and raise it- been there done that also

2)rip it up and then retile
-obviously a lot of work- I have previously ripped up about 600-800sq. ft of tile at prior house so I realize the unfunness that this is
-will give me nice transitions, avoid redoing the door, eliminate the risk of underlying tile shifting, etc
-will give a nice flat surface to tile over