Sistering I-beams [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Sistering I-beams

weesa20
03-03-2007, 06:56 PM
Question- what is the procedure for sistering I beams?

I was thinking of ripping corresponding plywood and glueing/screwing it in place along the whole length of the beam as they recommend here http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/print/0,17071,451111,00.html

...the question really is, should I screw or nail and what glue should I use? Nailing vs. screwing...pattern?

The I-beam web is 4.5 inches deep with 1/2 thickness to the flange and the beam span is 13.6 feet long on 24" centers.

I also want to put in some mid-span blocking..how should this be done

Thanks,

Andrew

Sponsored Links

P.Dieter
03-04-2007, 12:54 AM
These PDF's (http://www.bc.com/wood/ewp/guides.jsp) should illustrate everything. Might want to search for your particular brand the idea is usually the same.

Star
03-05-2007, 03:21 PM
Hi Andrew!

I'm not a pro....

1) The glue will most likely be a solvent based construction adhesive and not a urethane glue. Solvent based does not expand and will remain a bit more flexible.

2) I'd go with screws. If you had a lot of shear forces you'd have to go with nails (not the gun type) because their cores are thicker (like joining headers and beams). Using screws will eliminate all the violent banging on the joists.

Something I don't get..Do you want to place the plywood on the "inside" of the I joist or apply it to the entire height? You need to get an exact answer from a structural enginnnnnnneer.

____pete

SteveVB
03-05-2007, 07:18 PM
Why are you doing this? Recommended by someone? You need an engineer to determine how much stiffness you are adding. Or call the manufacturer of your joists for recommendations. Sometimes an 8 or 10 foot section to the middle of the joists is all thats needed.