Starting off right... [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Starting off right...

Texasgirl
08-20-2001, 08:46 AM
Hi John!
I am just beginning my project and I want to start on the right foot. I have 300 square feet of kitchen that I am putting ceramic tile on. 100 feet of it is hardwood (layed around the year 1900). The other 200 square feet is bouncy, creaky plywood (layed in 1964).
Now I know I will be replacing the plywood section, but what do I do about the hardwood section? A tech at Wonderboard said I should replace the bad plywood with new, then put another layer of plywood over the whole floor. Or am I going to have to remove the hardwood (ugh!) in addition to the plywood and start from scratch? Under the whole thing is diagonally layed 1x6 cedar.
Also, there are gaps between the walls and the hardwood. Would I fill these? If so, with what?
I have been researching this project for about six months and at now I'm thinking of chickening out and calling a contractor.
I would appreciate any advice you have. Thanks for offering such a great website!

Sponsored Links

Bud Cline
08-20-2001, 02:53 PM
The big question is what's below the 1x6 cedar. If the floor is bouncy tile won't last till the weekend. We need some information as to the structural aspects of your floor.

Specifically: What is the size of the floor joists? How far apart are they spaced? How far do they run (span) without support under them?

John Bridge
08-20-2001, 03:55 PM
Welcome, Texas Girl (you're gonna have to give us a shorter name :))

First of all, don't chicken out for two reasons: 1) you can do it, and 2) you ain't gonna find anybody to to it anyway. Everybody in Texas that I know is burried.