Screw Heads and Hardibacker [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Screw Heads and Hardibacker

Paul M.
08-15-2001, 09:05 AM
Help...I'm a first time installer and I'm working on a 550sf kitchen/laundry/bath porcelain tile project. I have a particle board over plywood subfloor. On top of this I have thinset and screwed 1/4" hardibacker. I used daltile thinset with liquid latex additive and 1 1/4" backerboard screws in a 6-8 inch grid pattern. The screw heads didn't all go down completely flush with the backerboard. Will the 1/4" troweled thinset going on next take care of this? Also, there are a few spots where the backerboard didn't stick to the thinset (I used 3/32" trowel size)...I am ready to lay the tile, but I want to remedy these issues first....

Any advice? Thanks

Sponsored Links

Rob Z
08-15-2001, 09:50 AM
Hi Paul

Thanks for stopping by.

I have never installed Hardibacker, but several of the guys around here use it a lot. The question about the screw heads is one that really can be answered by seeing it. What I mean is just how high are they? A 32d of an inch is probably not a problem. High by an 1/8" is definately a problem. I do know that the users of hardi have said it can be a little more difficult to drive screws flush in Hardi because it is so dense.

The 3/32" trowel is undersized for the installation of the hardi. The recommended trowel is a 1/4" notch, and I have even used a larger trowel for installing cement board because I didn't get good coverage under the board with the recommended 1/4" trowel. Your Hardi may not be "stuck" in places because of the small notch size, or the thinset skinned over before the Hardi backer was set in it, or because the glues in the particle board prevented a bond with the thinset.