3x6 or 4x8 for FLOOR - who has it? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : 3x6 or 4x8 for FLOOR - who has it?

johnmari
08-06-2005, 04:53 AM
Hello, newbie here, drifting over from Gardenweb. My name is Mari and I live on the NH seacoast.

Does anyone know of a reasonably priced ($10sf is pushing the budget envelope hard, I need to keep materials costs down to cover labor) 3x6 or 4x8 for floors that isn't a wannabe-stone tile? Solid color - tans, light browns - would be very much preferred. I want the rectangular shape to do a herringbone or basketweave pattern on a bathroom floor. Dal's documentation says that the Rittenhouse Square mattes can be used on residential bathroom floors but the breaking strength is really low... my first thought had been to use that since that's what's going on the shower walls but after consulting Dal's tech support decided that it's not as good an idea as I thought.

The local tile stores have been useless as far as getting help is concerned, which is extremely frustrating, and getting to Portland or Boston would be difficult (long story, not relevant). Can anyone help?

Many thanks,
Mari

Sponsored Links

Mike2
08-06-2005, 06:12 AM
Good morning Mari and welcome to TYW :)

How about Natural Hues from Daltile? Click here (http://www.daltileproducts.com/series.cfm?cat=4&series=26) . Solid colors in both 3X6 and 4X8 with breaking strength of 250 lbs.

Additionally, Joe Gleason (jgleason) one of our moderators here is from NH. Maybe he knows of a better tile store to go to. I'll ask him to join us.

johnmari
08-06-2005, 06:36 AM