Shower walls - Durock [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Shower walls - Durock

shannong
06-16-2005, 10:41 PM
Durock and straight walls
Hi, I am new to this site and am learning a lot. I live in S. Cal and am in the middle of renovating my bathroom. I am a carpenter/cabinet maker and only have a small amount of tile experience. I was hoping that someone could help me with a few questions?

I replaced my shower curb with 3 new 2x4's and had the the shower floor hot mopped. Last weekend I installed #15 felt on the shower walls from floor to ceiling. I then started to install Durock. One of my problems is that I cannot get the cement boards to meet in the corners. Besides that there are many indents in the walls. When I hold the level to the walls the lower section sticks out more since I cannot use screws through the hot mopped section and makes the walls not plum. Also, when I hold the level against the walls they are not smooth. There are high and low spots. Could this be from the framing or even the felt behind? I purchased 4 mil plastic and am contemplating taking down the felt and using the plastic since it is way more pliable.

If that is not enough to stress me, my plumber installed to shower valve and I think it is way to far out and that he willl need to come back and reset it. I stopped in a panic and am trying to regroup to start again. I tried to see if I could get a tile guy to do the walls for me then I would take over, but they say around $1500.00 to float a 3x3 shower. Yikes!

I am back on the track of tackeling it again by myself. Any advice? I am a woman whose husbands back has been out for 2 months(siatic nerve) and he cannot help me.