backbuttering [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : backbuttering

Tayo
10-16-2004, 10:23 PM
Bonjour Experts,

I'm new at tiling. After I applied the thinset on the floor with a 3/8" notched trowel, I was wondering if it is recommended to backbutter your tiles, resulting a double layer of thinsets with a total of 3/4" thick I'm laying porcelain tiles (12x12) on a plywood substrate.

Tayo

Sponsored Links

cx
10-16-2004, 11:05 PM
Welcome, Tayo. :)

Please refrain from sayin' bonjour and such other words on accounta now John Bridge will be on here tryin' to show off his French speakin' abilities.

And it won't be pretty. :D

The short answer is no, you don't wanna be ending up with that much thinset under the tile, but backbuttering or "burning in" thinset on the back of the tiles is frequently recommended by big-time tile guys here. But all you want to do is make sure some thinset has been forced onto the back of the tile with the flat side of the trowel to ensure it wants to stick to the thinset on the floor.

But first let's discuss your setting these tiles directly onto a plywood subfloor. It can be done, mind you, but your floor must meet some serious and very specific installation criteria. So......without any prompting, how about you describe your floor, beginning with the size, spacing, and unsupported span of the joists, and ending with the type, thickness, and method of installation of any and all layers of subflooring.

My opinion; worth price charged.

Tayo
10-17-2004, 12:10 AM
Hi CX,

I didn't know that John Bridge speaks French. Where I come from it's 50/50 frenchies. :D