another strange granite question [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : another strange granite question

paulines
09-19-2004, 06:21 PM
I have Typhoon Green granite and previously had concerns re' rust spots which you folks kindly addressed. Well, at the risk of sounding totally crazy, I have another concern. My granite does have some "pits", and it seems like some type of moisture is seeping into these pits and causing what I can only describe as rainbowish stains (almost like oil-but I know it's not oil) under the glossy top of the granite. I realize things like oil, water etc will cause stains, but when I tested my sample piece of granite the stains presented themselves as just a darker shade of the granite. These rainbow streaks are driving me nuts. Anyone know what they are and what can be done to minimize or eliminate them? Thanks again! :bow:

Sponsored Links

Mike2
09-19-2004, 07:28 PM
Hi paulines:

I’m not a stone expert but after reading your other post I did some snooping around.

Turns out Typhoon Green is exclusively quarried by Cremar S.p.A, a large and well established Italian company in the stone industry. Their main office here in the states is in Dallas, 1-800-220-0966. If our experts here are not familiar with those rainbow streaks, I'd give Cremar a call.

I read in your first post Can rust corrode granite? (http://johnbridge.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=14892) that your granite was sealed. Do you know what brand was used, and how many coats?
Typhoon Green

doitright
09-19-2004, 08:35 PM
Hi Pauline :)