Basic Floor Question and More [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Basic Floor Question and More

pman
08-24-2004, 07:52 AM
my bathroom is gutted...and will be tiled...what is the best process to do the flooring...2 piece of 5/8 non treated plywood? do i also add concrete board on top? sorry, im a rookie..tks peter

Sponsored Links

pman
08-24-2004, 07:55 AM
my shower stall is gutted and will be tiled. im planning to put up concrete backer board. what is best insulation if any to put behined the wall? and do i need anything other than the backer board to protect against water? tks peter

jbrunetti
08-24-2004, 12:39 PM
PMAN,

You would do yourself a lot of good if you got John's new book. I bought it and I can tell you it goes through a lot of the questions you will have if you plan on doing the project yourself. It is definitely a worthwhile investment.

pman
08-24-2004, 12:47 PM
just bot it...but before it arrives, can u answer my question? i get confused on difference between subfloor and plywood...most comments talk neg about plywood...so trying to get clarification on exact process...not doing the work myself, but gc'ing so trying to get basic info...tks peter

COBALT
08-24-2004, 01:51 PM
Here's what I did to my gutted 1926 bathroom with a rotten cedar ship lathe floor:

1. Cut the center section of the floor out using a skill saw being careful not to damage the floor joists.

2. Removed the rest using a cut-off wheel, and a set of chisels.

3. Doubled up the floor joists in the basement for added support (7 1/2" x 2" x 12' beams).

4. Used 3/4" tongue-and-groove floor grade plywood cut to shape. Used ring-shank nails and liquid nails along the floor joists to secure it into place.

4. Used Versabond thinset spread with a 1/4" x 1/4" notch trowel, and laid down 1/2" wonderboard secured with Rock-On screws every 6"-8". This makes a minimum 1 1/4" thick floor to act as my tiling surface.