Wife wants little to no grout lines on countertop [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Wife wants little to no grout lines on countertop

FloridaKen
08-18-2004, 01:55 PM
Though not a complete newbie, I've only tiled one bathroom wall and a backsplash several years ago, never a countertop. I'd like to tile OVER TOP of a laminate counter in our vacation home/condo. (For one thing, getting rid of the old countertop would present a BIG problem!) Wife agrees we need a new countertop but hates grout lines and thinks they are crumb-catchers and bacteria harborers. I'm thinking of using 13 x 13 tiles, butt-joining them and using non-sanded grout to (hopefully) end up with a level surface. Am I dreaming???

Sponsored Links

Mike2
08-18-2004, 02:10 PM
Hi Ken, glad you joined and welcome :)

I don't think you will find too many (if anyone) here that would go along with wife persons druthers -- butt joining tile not a good thing to do. :shake: A 1/16" space for stone tile with non-sanded grout is standard fare. If your more significant other can't live with grout joints, even 1/16", then maybe you should focus on a solid surface CT.

Davestone
08-18-2004, 03:39 PM
You'll never get tile that size flat enough for that to look good.

Mike2
08-18-2004, 06:26 PM
Then you'd really be in trouble Ken.

Davestone
08-18-2004, 06:30 PM
Nobody likes grout joints! :) Most larger tiles just ain't made for that,i don't care for them on counters,i do em though,but i can't make them look like slabs :bow:

Unregistered
08-18-2004, 08:17 PM
Dave...since I've only worked with the 4 x 4's previously, I don't quite understand why bigger tiles wouldn't lay flat. Please educate me! While we're at it, I'd love to find out why some grout lines are wider than others? Is there a reason to make them wider sometimes or what? Thanks, guys!

bbcamp
08-19-2004, 05:43 AM