Mark's Basement Bathroom [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Mark's Basement Bathroom

MARK3980
04-03-2017, 09:50 AM
Hi all! I'm a home owner who tackles a tile job about every five years or so. When I do, I come on here to get great advice from the experts. I'm putting in a new bathroom in the basement. Framing is done, and Kerdi board is put up in the shower stall. The wife, god bless her, came up with the idea of using a stacked stone looking tile. I have no experience with this product and had some questions.

1. Is it something only the experts should try and the somewhat handy should leave alone? I figured on putting it on the long wall, 60", with no plumbing in the way or niches used.

2. I'm figuring that wall will go in last, after the sidewalls and floor, all conventional tile, are done. Is this correct?

3. I had planned on using a Schluter profile in all the intersections, floor and wall. I guess that's out now. Or can I still use it on the floor where a lot of the stone will overhang the profile?

4. Or should I leave a slight gap between the stone and the floor and fill it with caulking?

5. Any brands of stone that are better than others?

Thanks in advance for any insight you can give!

Mark

Sponsored Links

rmckee84
04-03-2017, 11:56 AM
Without knowing which stacked stone product you'll be using its hard to give an opinion. They vary greatly.

1. Its doable for most
2. Probably the best route
3. Probably wouldn't use profiles
4. Always leave a gap at change of plane and fill with 100% silicone in wet areas.

MARK3980
04-03-2017, 04:16 PM
Thanks Ryan!

I figured there would be a big variation in quality, just like everything else, but there's not a lot of information on different brands out there that I could find. Even on the internet, this site included. Any recommendations?

prodjsaig
04-03-2017, 04:58 PM