2017 Shower Renovation [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : 2017 Shower Renovation

atldave
01-19-2017, 11:01 PM
Hello all,

First a disclaimer that I'm a newbie here, but I haven't seen this discussion elsewhere, and I've searched for a while now, so I'll ask here. I am converting my shower/tub combo into a walk in shower in the basement on a concrete slab. This is the first time doing this type of project, so it is a learning experience. After demoing the entire bathroom and taking the existing space down to the studs, I have installed the rough in for the shower valve, and I have installed the curb. I chickened out of moving the drain (which was in the front of the shower, and only 1.5 inches) by myself, and decided to call a plumber to do it for me. I got a very good recommendation from a friend, and he moved the shower drain from the front of the shower to the center, which will make my tiling life much easier. He also converted the drain from a 1.5 inch drain to a 2 inch drain. After doing this, and when it came time for the concrete to be poured back in, he did not level it off. Thus, my subfloor is seriously uneven. Currently, the concrete, on the one side of the drain flange comes up to the top of the flange where the pre slope should be. On the other side, it is just below the flange, which seems to me to be more proper as this allows room for a preslope.

My question is whether I need to level the concrete and if so, how to do so? Right now, I think that I cannot do a pre slope because the concrete, on one side, is coming up to the flange. This seems to me to leave no room to put builder's felt on the floor. Am I seriously off base here? Does it not matter and I'm just freaking out for no reason? I am kinda ocd about evenness and things of that sort, so maybe I'm just freaking out. If so, feel free to say so. Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated!