Newbie needs help: Tub surround, starting at studs [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help: Tub surround, starting at studs

BPinWV
01-12-2017, 04:12 PM
Hello,

I'd like to thank you for taking a look at my question. I've looked through the forum and have found bits and pieces of my solution, but can't find exactly what I'm looking for.

I'm not a professional, I'm a weekend Do-it-Yourself guy. I feel like it's better to invest the time and money and learn the task in case it comes up again. This one has me at my wits end, and I'm afraid of making a mistake and covering it up only to find 10 years from now I screwed up.

When this house was built in the early 70's, it was done in a hurry and on the cheap. The tub was finished with drywall and covered with mastic and tiled. And a few years ago, I noticed a leak downstairs that led me to this tub. Once I started into the repair I ended up tearing it all out.

You will note that my pdf sketch shows how the tub is now, after I added furring strips. The durock is not installed, I'm considering how to do it

You might ask why I installed furring strips: the tub was installed crooked, and in places 1/2" away from the studs. I wanted the back side of the durock to be within the flange of the tub.

Sorry if I'm adding unnecessary details, I'm new to this..

I'm at a point where I can't put off installing the durock any longer, but I can't figure out how to seal it. I will be using Laticrete Hydroban to seal the face of the durock, but I'm worried about the area nearest the tub. My understanding is this is usually sealed with silicone after the tile is installed. I'd like an extra layer of protection.

My idea, and please comment, is to bring the durock down to 1/4" above the tub, and seal it using Sikaflex sealant. But Sika doesn't exactly recommend using it on tubs.