Help! Restoring a Mud Wall for tiling? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Help! Restoring a Mud Wall for tiling?

Horatio2
12-29-2016, 06:09 AM
Hey folks!

I am new to all of this so pls be patient with me.

I am attempting to redo my bathtub myself. I just bought a co-op and the previous owner had one-piece tub surround on top of the existing tub and tiles.

Somehow, a small drip from the tub spout caused water to pool between the original tub and tubsurround and it eventually buckled.

Long Story Short....i had to rip out everything, including the tiles on the walls.

What i am left with (pictures attached)

Longest Wall (on side of tub) : appears to be a bud wall. Cement applied to metal mesh. Tiles were adhered directly on wall and were pretty difficult to remove. Wall still feels solid. Wall still has ALOT of old thinset on it that is difficult to remove. 12" from ceiling is not cement and was not originally tiled.

[LIST] Rear wall: Tiles were adhered to cement board. Metal Studs on one half of this wall seemed to have been installed. The other half of wall has a "new" metal mesh with some sort of adhesive or thinset on top of it.

[LIST]Front Wall with shower head: Mud Wall. There seems to have been a bit of water damage on this wall. Cement closest to shower head was wet and crumbling. Mesh is also rusted. This area (1/3 of wall) was torn out.
Realized later tgat there are NO studs in this wall...only 3 skinny rusted metal floating beams. The beams are not affixed to any base. The closest base would go all the way to the foundation of the apartment.

Plan A:
I need to redo this job for low cost and quick turnaround and moderate construction. I dont plan on stating in this apt forever but i dont want any water issues later either.

Replace rear wall with CBU by nailing to studs on one side and using adhesive on other side.