questionable backer board installation [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : questionable backer board installation

elvira
12-22-2016, 03:32 PM
A contractor (who is not a tiler by trade) has installed a backer board around our bath tub surround for future tile installation. No shims or furring strips were used between the studs and the backer board to compensate for the thickness of the flange.

As a result:

1. On one of the three walls, the backer board ended up under the flange so the flange now rests on the surface of the backer board. The thickness of the flange is standard (around 1/4 inch). Tile is to go on top of the flange and onto the rest of the wall.

2. On the other two walls, the backer board (Densshield) was "shaved" at the bottom to land over the flange but some uneven surfaces and cuts in the corners of the boards were created as a result of this "hacking".

My question is whether these two issues are acceptable for future tile installation. I am the customer and new to tiling.

Thanks a lot in advance. I have tried to load some pictures, you may have to look horizontally.

Sponsored Links

rmckee84
12-22-2016, 05:38 PM
Prep is key to a quality installation, so no that's not acceptable in my book. Walls should be flat and plumb before anything is installed on the walls. Tell the guy to come back and do it properly or get your money back and hire someone that knows what they're doing.

Jaz
12-22-2016, 05:59 PM
Hi Elvira,

I can't tell where the problem is or why. It's possible that the situation has nothing to do with this installer but the way the surround was installed and/or the way the studs lineup. In other words, if this is an el cove, the space is usually ½" or so too long and if the surround isn't spaced just right, things don't lineup.

i.e. a tub cove might measure ½" more than the width of the tub surround.