Glass Fireplace Project [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Glass Fireplace Project

maingey
12-19-2016, 08:23 PM
Hi Everyone,

Recently discovered this site and it is great! I have done some lurking but I think it is best to just ask questions.

I have a fireplace in my master bedroom that is a gas unit Heatilator ND4236. The unit was installed previous to my owning the home. I would like to tile around it and all the way up on three faces of the unit (front is 44"Wx11'Tall)
(sides about 19"Wx11' tall) and mount my tv over it. My question is this. I have glass tile that I would like to use, but after reading up a bit I'm starting to question whether this is such a great idea. I have a feeling that I will need some level of cement board but I've had one contractor tell me to just clad it in cement board and other folks tell me to just put the tile over the glass.

1. What do I need to do to do this once and properly?

2. Since glass doesn't really expand how are others putting glass so close to the fire and I'm not really seeing anything with cracking?

3. How would I finish the corners (wall/ ceiling and wall/wall)

4. Am I going to have to leave an untiled part in the front for the mount of the tv? I was thinking I may have to put plywood down, mount that to the studs, and then mount to the plywood.

5. I also have seen little LED lights in grout to make it a twinkle function, too much work?

6. Can I remove the hearth? The unit is a gas unit with the protective glass in front.

7. Mastic? Thinset? What kind of grout?

8. W or M?

I am a bit of time away from this project (2 - 3 months) as I'm also working on other areas of the house. Depending on how things go and how brave I get hoping to be through this by February/March. Not sure if I'm being overly cautious or overly ambitious.

:calm:

Thanks to all in advance.

Sponsored Links

Kman
12-19-2016, 11:48 PM
Welcome to the forum, Maingey. :)