bathroom remodel question [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : bathroom remodel question

ruscan
12-12-2016, 10:15 AM
Hello,
We recently bought an older home and I was thinking of remodeling the bathroom. I want to tile the shower around the existing bath.
I was wondering if that is something that is acceptable to do? If you look at the pictures (please excuse the mess, this bathroom is currently in bad shape and nobody wants to use it) you will see that bathtub has like three layers that are connected, I was wondering if its ok to remove the top two layers of this plastic material, install hardibacker and waterproof it and tile and just leave the bottom piece of the bath as is.

Is that ok to do so or would you recommend I should remove everything and install a new bath, just not sure how its done. I do have some previous tiling experience, but Im not an expert by any means.

Thank you all,
Greg

Sponsored Links

Carbidetooth
12-12-2016, 11:52 AM
Because of the design of that type of enclosure, integrating a tiled surround isn't really feasible.

Removing and replacing tub and building a proper tiled surround is a significant project. Will eat both time and $$. DIY will help, but not a "quickie" kind of thing.

ruscan
12-12-2016, 07:38 PM
thanks fo rreply, I was afraid of that lol
but i do have time and a small budget. im not in a rush so i will give it a try. maybe it will take me a little longer but i want to do it right.

Should I start by removing everything then? taking it to the dump
So is there a specific bath that i should look for that is suitable for tile?

Houston Remodeler
12-12-2016, 08:14 PM
Edmonton,

Just how small of a budget are you talking about? Proper waterproofing costs around $20 per sf, add tile, grout, thinset, backerboard, caulking.....

ruscan
12-12-2016, 09:22 PM
i have 2k available right now, i could probably allocate more $$ at a later date.