TEC Universal Mastic? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : TEC Universal Mastic?

VikingLike
12-11-2016, 10:26 AM
I'm a rookie.
I've completed a few small jobs. To me, mixing the mortar properly and the pressure of it setting as I use it is the worst.

The reason for my post is that I stumbled over this TEC Premium Tile Adhesive Universal Mastic. Two guys separately in the big blue box told me that it would be fine for my needs. Although the pail recommends it for tiles 20x20 max and trowel 1/4x3/8x1/4....

I'm getting ready to start tiling a mudroom and adjoining half bathroom, total size is 7' by 33'.
I have the 1/4" Hardibacker down.
I am using 8" by 48" tiles (fake wood look)
1/8" grout lines
Using 1/2" square trowel
I have already purchased TEC Large Tile Mortar Latex-Modified Mortar

1) Would it be a huge mistake using the mastic product for this job?
2) If not the mastic, is the latex-modified correct?
3) Is 1/2" square trowel the proper size?
Any other tips are greatly appreciated!
Thank you!!!!

Sponsored Links

cx
12-11-2016, 10:34 AM
Welcome back, Scott. :)

1. Yes, very large. Using it over Hardiebacker will help with the drying, but I wouldn't recommend it for that application.

2. Yes.

3. Depends upon the flatness of your tiles and your substrate. The tile industry standard for flatness of the floor for tiles that size is no deviation from intended plane of more than 1/8th-inch in ten feet nor 1/16th-inch in two feet. That's a very flat floor and it's unlikely you have that unless you took some specific measures to make it so.

My opinion; worth price charged.

Tool Guy - Kg
12-11-2016, 10:39 AM
Hi, Scott.