Roger's Bathroom Remodel Extravaganza [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Roger's Bathroom Remodel Extravaganza

MyFakeName
07-16-2015, 12:41 PM
Thank god there is a forum like this otherwise I wouldn't know where to begin.

With that said. I don't know where to begin.

I have a million questions, but I think I'll start off with one topic at a time. Otherwise I'll overwhelm myself.

My Question:
I'm using Jeffery Cort Carrera Marble (8x12) in a Kerdi shower (going to a class in a couple weeks). What is the best way to seal the marble before I install and what is the best brand of sealant to use? Can I dip them in it? If I dip them do I need to worry about adhesion?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links

Steve in Denver
07-16-2015, 12:55 PM
I'm not a pro - you may get other answers and I'd suggest that you listen to "them" not "me" if there is a difference of opinion.

I used Carrera marble in my shower and sealed *after* the tiles were installed and grouted. I believe you can seal before grouting, but you have to take care not to get sealer in the grout joints for the adhesion issue you alluded to. I don't know that it is that big of an issue in practice, but it could happen.

You will want to follow the manufacturers instructions for whatever sealer you choose, and I suspect you will find that the sealer is to be applied with a cloth or maybe with a spray pump...I haven't heard of soaking to apply the sealer, but again I'm an amateur.

I used Mircale brand 511 (I think) impregnator sealer. It seems to be well regarded. As I recall the instructions were to apply to the surface using a cloth, let it sit for a period of time (5 minutes) and then wipe off.

The sealer will protect the stone against staining to some extent, but it does not waterproof it. That's what the kerdi (or other waterproofing method) is for.

A few other things:

1. Use white thinset with your marble tiles - gray can stain it.