Big Travertine Job [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Big Travertine Job

mhitim
05-18-2015, 10:09 AM
This is my first post on JB so I hope it is not too long. Moderators, if there is a better way to post these questions please let me know.

I'm not a professional tile setter but I've set enough tile to be dangerous. I'm about to start on a 1600 sf job using large format, 1/2" thick travertine tiles set in a French (Versailles) pattern. This job is a little more involved than the others I have done.

1) I need to level a dining room floor that is out 1 3/8" in 10' and I have no experience with self leveling compounds. The Deflecto calculator does not quite offer the exact dimensions of my subfloor so I would appreciate your input on its suitability for this tile.

The floor is constructed of a 1 1/8" single thickness, T&G plywood subfloor on 4 x 6 (3.5 x 5.75 actual) beams sitting on concrete piers spaced on a 32" x 72" pattern. The room is 12' x 14'.

Two thirds of the room drops off uniformly from 0" to 1 3/8" in 10'. I plan to use a self leveling compound topped with Ditra as I don't know if Hardibacker can be used over SLC. The guys at Custom Building Products have recommended 2.5 metal lath, a generous coat of primer and they told me not to feather the SLC but instead dam it to at least 1/2" thick and then float it from there with their "Speed Finish".

The room is adjacent to the kitchen, which is already done so I want to match the level of the kitchen tile. This means I only have about 3/4" to work with. The good news is I don't need any SLC at the doorway into the kitchen.

a) Will this subfloor support the load?
b) What are your thoughts on the SLC application advice from Custom Products?

2) I will be doing a 42" wide staircase that has four 2 x 12 stringers and 13 steps (so fairly standard). My questions are:

a) Is this strong enough for 1 1/8" thick travertine pavers for the treads?