Is this a big problem? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Is this a big problem?

Dgamby
04-28-2015, 09:54 AM
So I just bought a house and am attempting to re-grout the shower which was not in great shape. It is all one inch tile on the ground, so a lot of grout to remove. When removing the grout some tiles came loose and I noticed a gap at the edge where the floor meets the wall right under the spigot.

My question is, can I simply reattach the tile and then re-grout trusting that the grout will fill that gap or do I need to do a more serious repair? Again I'm a complete newbie so please ask questions if I left out pertinent details.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links

Platypus
04-28-2015, 01:55 PM
The best thing you could do is browse this site, try to figure out the one or two or four ways (there are a few combinations), but it's pretty basic to properly waterproof a shower, then determine if your shower meets those design principles. When was the house built?

I don't think anyone will be able to tell from that picture. It's not a great sign that it's black, but nothing is proven just yet...

The very first thing you need to understand is that grout and tile are not your waterproofing. They are the armor that protects your waterproofing system (if you have one under there). Is that stuff under the tile like a felt material? Kind of like paper? If so, do NOT cut it.

The problem you have is that you may compromise your waterproofing system (if you have one) if you start digging and poking around with sharp implements, particularly if you don't know how things are supposed to be built. Can you get behind the wall somehow so you can see what the back of it looks like?

Pictures, you are going to get lots of requests for pictures, and the more you post, the more help you will get.

Dgamby
04-28-2015, 03:09 PM