bathroom rebirth [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : bathroom rebirth

Dez
09-08-2013, 06:16 PM
Hello! I'm new to being a member of this site - not new to reading and searching on this site. I'm so glad this is here and available for us DIYers!

We have gutted and are putting back together a bathroom from forever ago. The house was built around 1906 - sorry haven't been to the recorder's office to find the actual date. The house was listed as 1940's, but there are historical pictures from 1905 - the house didn't exist and then 1907 - there it was in all its glory!

To the point: I've spent a long time searching and haven't found straight answers - so I'd love your help.

We have a 2-apron tub that we are going to tile the surround using
3x6 ceramic subway tiles in a brick pattern with a
listello that is marble and glass brick pattern mosaic.

We have applied Kerdi to the walls - that was scary. Wished I had downloaded John's Kerdi book.

Now it's time to tile. I did download Tile-Your-World.

1. Is TEC Full Flex a good choice for thinset for the tub surround?
2. Do we use Kerdi-Fix between the tub and Kerdi? Or is it too late?
3. How many rows of tile can we do at once? Someone told me only a few because it will fall? I can't imagine that's true - because you guys get the tiling done in a day - don't you? What I got from "Tile Your World" is to let the field tile set up before putting on the listello and then let the listello set before finishing the field tile...thoughts?
4. We used unmodified thinset between wall and Kerdi - if it has any bearing on answers. I think I need more drying time to put up the tile.
5. We had some tiger-striping - is that a huge problem?

I'm sure I have more questions...but that's it for now.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links

cx
09-08-2013, 06:30 PM
Welocme, Desri. :)