Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Old 02-19-2012, 12:05 AM   #1
PetrH

knee problems: does everyone have them?

I would really like to hear you thoughts on this. Both problems and solutions. Seems to be a bit of a taboo subject among floor layers.

I've been setting tiles for about 5 years full time. After about 1 year of apprenticing I moved to a smaller town and have had little contact with pro tile setters (except on line). My real concern is that if my knees are hurting after 5 years, will I be walking in another 25?

i use a racatac creeper and foam pads sewn into my coveralls. So my knees don't hurt so much from kneeling, but rather from standing up 100 times a day. So far it's just pain around the knee cap that goes away with icing, and I hear some grinding when I walk up stairs.
Old 02-19-2012, 02:40 AM   #2
Jim Farrell Tiler
dont blame me i didnt vote for him

not me, not yet, only been doing it since 1975 though

no matter where you go.......there you are
Jim Farrell Tiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:54 AM   #3
jondon
Hershey Pennsylvania Tile Contractor

Send a message via AIM to jondon
Quote:
postec by Petr:
So far it's just pain around the knee cap that goes away with icing, and I hear some grinding when I walk up stairs.