Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 09-26-2011, 04:47 PM   #1
mmullen

Bathroom renovation

I've been browsing these forums for a couple months now but recently registered because some guidance from more experienced tilers would be helpful. I've already gleaned much useful info so kudos to those who so freely share their wealth of knowledge!

The current project is a rectangular bathroom 9 feet deep and 60" wide. The door is on one small end while the short back wall and long right side wall are both on the corner of a concrete perimeter foundation. The floor joists run perpendicular to the long direction of the room and are 1 3/4" x 9" on 16" centers but there are a couple of extra joists near the back wall (8" centers). The joists span 14' and the bathroom is built on the corner of the foundation. The joists have blocking in two places along their 14" span. and are accessible via crawlspace. It is warm and dry down there. The subfloor is a single layer of 5/8 plywood glued and screwed to the joists but it has no gaps between the seams. It feels solid in all areas but I have not performed any deflection measurements. The floor is level.

I'm going crazy trying to decide how to handle the tile floor. It will have electric wire floor heat and I don't mind over-building the sub-floor except that I really want to avoid having a high transition from the hallway to the bathroom. The hallway is vinyl on thin (1/4 or 3/8") particle board on the same plywood sub-floor.