Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 08-28-2011, 06:05 PM   #1
Geocade

Kerdi Curb

Hi. First a little intro, then a small question.
To be clear, I am a newb with this stuff.
I am resonably proficient with home renos, but I am tackling a shower re-do for the first time. I am looking at tiling a small shower - about 44x32 and will 'Kerdi' it first. It is on the 2nd floor - with a wood subfloor. I expect to create a mud deck. While I have been lurking for some time, I will no doubt have a ton of questions.

My first is with respect to the Kerdi curb. For those who have been using them for a while, I am concerned with how strong they are. Do they stand up to supporting a heavy shower door, people standing on them (I have kids) etc.

I like the idea of a preformed curb (less work) but want to insure longevity.

Thanks.
Geoff
Old 08-28-2011, 07:06 PM   #2
Hammy

Send a message via AIM to Hammy
Schluter Curbs on fine. Plenty strong. You could build your curb out 2 by lumber since you are on a wood floor. I have used the Schluter Curbs when called for in the contract. No problems.

Hammy

Professionally Built Mold - Mildew - Moisture Resistant Showers
Using Laticrete & Schluter Products

Click here to Visit us on Face Book
Hammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 08:48 PM   #3
jadnashua
Veteran DIYer- Schluterville Graduate

Once sheathed in Kerdi and tile, it is plenty strong. Before you cover it over, be careful of any solvents...the pvc cement will eat a hole if it comes in contact...you don't have to ask how I know that! It is moderately high and wide...you have more control if you build one yourself, but they do work fine.