Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Cleaning, Restoration and Sealing

Sponsors

Old 10-25-2010, 05:18 PM   #1
shelley belly

sealers

hey, how's it goin' everyone. I am new to this whole post thing. Does anyone want to offer me an answer as to whether or not Aquamix sealer's choice gold can be used as the final seal ,on tumbled trav. backsplash, which has "enrich n seal" enhancer on already? Just wondering if using enrich n seal will darken the tile even more if used as the final seal after grouting. Are the two products compatible? Would really appreciate the experts advice.
Old 10-25-2010, 06:05 PM   #2
Tool Guy - Kg
Moderator -- Wisconsin Kitchen & Bath Remodeler

Hi Shelley, welcome.

There are penetrating sealers and there are enhancing sealers. You've already used Enrich 'n Seal (enhancing sealer)...that's your sealer and stick with that. If the grouting process was so rough on the sealer that you can see that a bit of the enhancing is worn away, then another coat will likely darken it back to what it was like before grouting. I think the difference, if any, will be marginal. I'd proceed with a test of another coat of your Enrich 'n Seal in a small area to see what your final results will be.

By the way, I'm going to move this over to the Cleaning, Sealing, and Restoration forum for possible further comments from the restoration pros.
Old 10-25-2010, 07:18 PM   #3
Davestone
Florida Tile & Stone Man

I would agree.

http://Davestonestile.com
Davestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 07:36 PM   #4
Stone Dude

Enrich N Seal is a good sealer, I dont think you would bnefit from applying Sealers Choice Gold

MilleStone Marble and Tile Inc.
MillestoneMarble.com