Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile Tile Monthly Magazine

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 09-10-2010, 05:50 PM   #1
MommyZero

Laundry Room (2nd floor) ~ Washing Machine Pan and Drain?

Let me say hello ~ I'm a TOTAL NOOB (so please be patient). I have ZERO experience with laying tile. I'm interested in learning and a simple starter project seemed to be putting a tile floor in my small second floor laundry room.

The only issue I can see is the drain in the floor under the washing machine. I have a drip pan under the washer which bas a hole cut in the middle and it is set over a drain pipe that protrudes from the floor maybe an inch and a half or 2 inches (I can't get a good look at it because I can't move the washer right now). It looks like there is some kind of screw on washer over the top of the threaded drain pipe (maybe holding the drip pan in place??).

Anyway. . . my question is this: Can I just remove the drip pan and tile right up to the drain pipe, and then replace the drip pan on top of the new tile floor? Obviously the hard board and tile will raise the level of the floor relative to the drain, is that a problem?

Thanks
Old 09-10-2010, 06:13 PM   #2
jondon
Hershey Pennsylvania Tile Contractor

Send a message via AIM to jondon
Hello MZ,

That is interestn the way you have a drain under there! Yes I think the easiest way to go would just be to tile up to the hole and then put the pan on top. I can't think of an easier way

Jon Donmoyer

JD Tile
CTEF Certified Installer #825

Custom Tile Installation in Hershey & surrounding areas

Serving Dauphin, Lebanon, Berks, Chester, & Montgomery Counties PA

jondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 06:58 PM   #3
MommyZero