Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 07-01-2010, 02:44 AM   #1
mpalo

Master Bath Remodel

Hello, I am new to your site but am extremely thankful of the wealth of knowlege contained in it. I am relatively new to tiling. I have done a few different rooms...all floors. I am now tackling a floor, shower. I am removing existing tile in shower and re-tiling. My first question : Is it possible to remove existing tile in shower on walls, floor and curb without having to re-install PVC, Lath...etc..? I have removed the existing tile from the curb and didn't have much luck keeping the installed material used on the wood in tact. Is this what I should expect when removing the floor and walls? I'm sure to have more questions but if I could get this info I then can make my materials list. Thanks
Old 07-01-2010, 04:32 AM   #2
Deckert
Remodeling and Tile Contractor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike
Is this what I should expect when removing the floor and walls?
I would expect to remove it all down to the studs, and remove the floor down to the slab or subfloor (depending on what you have).

This is a good thing though. You are never going to have a better opportunity to change out shower valves and supply lines, look for water damage and repair it, straighten up/reinforce your framing, etc, etc. Take it all down completely, then you can rebuild knowing the the entire thing is built to last.
HeenanGC.com
Deckert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 05:48 AM   #3
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man