Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 03-22-2010, 12:48 PM   #1
emilyardore
Custom Home Builder

Grout Height "Industry Standard" and near flush height possibility?

I'm a home builder/remodeler. I have a great tile subcontractor that I have worked with for several years that does great work and I trust their judgement and industry knowledge.

I have a kitchen remodel that my tile sub installed 18"x18" porcelain floors into just this past week. It looks great...to me... My client has issues with it. There are a few tiles that have corners that are nominally higher than the adjacent tiles. She marked about 20 of these. I marked about 5 that I would say were with in reason to be replaced. I think we are ok on that issue.

The grout looks great to me as well. The tile has very little to a non-existant micro-beveled edge...it's almost completely flat and square at the edges. The grout is installed at what I would consider a normal level below the height of the tile.....about 1/16" or so, with a variation of about 1/32" one way or the other in the height of grout fill.