Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 03-02-2010, 03:25 PM   #1
cawall

Applying Epoxy Grout On Granite Tile

Hi!! I'm a newbie to this forum and I'm going to be doing a granite tile countertop job for our kitchen.

I've done 10 - 12 DIY tile jobs with both slate & ceramic tile before -- both floor and countertops. But I've never used granite or epoxy grout before. I'd really like some advice.

My plan is to use Baltic Brown 12"x12" granite tiles with the grout color as close to black as I can get. The tiles will be butted together (no spacers).

My questions:

1). Is epoxy grout hard to clean off the granite?
2). Will water clean up the grout -- or do I need special chemicals?
3). Do I seal the tiles before I apply the grout?
4). Do I seal the grout after it has has set for several days?
5). Will I have problems forcing the grout into the very narrow separations between the tiles?
6). Who's epoxy grout is best (mfgrs names appreciated)?
7). Is epoxy grouting substantially more difficult than an unsanded grout, ceramic tile installation?

TIA for any advice you can give me.

Chuck
Old 03-02-2010, 03:36 PM   #2
hbrothberg

Epoxy Grout On Granite Tile

Chuck:

Full Disclosure - I am biased. I work for Laticrete. We manufacture SpectraLOCK "Stainless" Epoxy Grout.

OK, so now to your specific questions:

1). Is epoxy grout hard to clean off the granite? - if you purchase the "right" epoxy grout, NO, it will not be hard to clean off of the granite.

2). Will water clean up the grout -- or do I need special chemicals? - Clean up with water.

3). Do I seal the tiles before I apply the grout? - usually not needed