Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 07-12-2009, 01:55 AM   #1
mramos327

Steam Shower: Travertine or Porcelain?

Hello All,

My name is Miguel and this is my first time posting. I'm trying to decide what kind of tile to use in a new steam shower. I hear 2 different stories. One that sealed travertine is fine in a steam shower and another that only porcelain should be used to minimize the possibility of leaks. Which is right?

The designer in the tile store said that it would be a shame to have that nice new bathroom and you've used porcelain instead of natural stone which would increase the resale value.

Should I consider using porcelain in the steam shower and try and match it with a travertine for the rest of the bathroom?

Also, we're going to have a bench in the steam shower and my wife and I just saw some nice marble that we wanted to use for accents and possibly the top of the bench. I read in another thread that marble could possibly warp in the steam shower environment and it should not be used in big slabs like on the bench. Could we use 12x12 sized marble for the bench top and be OK?