Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 05-30-2003, 10:17 PM   #1
ALBERT CASTANON

Question Cbu's On Shower Walls

HELLO EVERYONE! I HAVE READ MANY ARTICLES ON THIS FORUM BUT THIS IS MY FIRST TIME TO ASK A QUESTION. I HAVE TILED 2 FLOOR AREAS IN MY HOME WITH EXCELLENT RESULTS AND NOW I AM MOVING UP TO A SHOWER PROJECT. I HAVE READ MANY ARTICLES, I HAVE BOUGHT JOHNS'S AND MICHAEL'S BOOKS AND SPENT MANY NIGHTS UP READING AND REREADING THEM. I PLAN TO CONSTRUCT A MORTER BED SHOWER FLOOR WITH A PVC
LINER BUT MY QUESTION CONCERNS THE CBU'S ON THE STUDS. I HAVE READ THAT TO AVOID "WICKING" THE CBU SHOULD BE HELD ABOVE THE EDGE OF A BATH TUB. ACCORDING TO THE INFO IN MICHAEL'S BOOK IT LOOKS LIKE THE CBU'S ARE HELD OFF THE MEMBRANE WITH SHIMS AND THEN THE FINAL SLOPED FLOOR IS FLOATED WHICH ACTUALLY LOCKS IN THE BOTTOM EDGE OF THE CBU. TO ME THIS SEEMS AS IF THIS WOULD CAUSE "WICKING" UP THE CBU. CAN ANYONE SHED SOME LIGHT ON THIS FOR ME? I WOULD FLOAT THE WALLS AS JOHN SUGGESTS BUT I AM NOT THAT CONFIDENT AS OF YET. THANK YOU!
ALBERT CASTANON is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-2003, 04:00 AM   #2
davem
Systems Engineer and Moderator, JB Forums

Send a message via AIM to davem Send a message via Yahoo to davem
Hello Albert, welcome to the forum. We're looking forward to helping with your shower, but the cost of admission is pichers!

It is recommended to lock the bottom of the cbu into the final layer of deck mud because we cannot put nails or screws through the bottom (they would penetrate the liner).