Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Old 03-20-2008, 07:05 PM   #1
goodguy
Contractor

Dens Guard vs. Dens Shield

Anybody seen the Dens Guard at Lowes? I have been using Dens Shield for about 2 or 3 years now and was wondering what the differece is, if any.
goodguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-20-2008, 07:38 PM   #2
duneslider
Utah Tile Contractor

densguard isn't a tile backer. It has the fiberglass front and back, no "waterproof" side. The densshield has the fiberglass on one side and the waterproof on the other. I believe the core is the same though. I have been using the densguard under kerdi and have been happy with it. I stuck a piece out in the yard about a month ago and it has been rained on and snowed on and still looks good as new.

I would be interested to know if any of the liquid membrane companies okay their products to be used over the densguard in showers. Just curious.

Tile Contractor
Positive Tile and Stone
Salt Lake City, Utah
duneslider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 07:40 PM   #3
pitterpat
Bathroom Remodels and Schluterville Grad

Why using Densguard under Kerdi?
pitterpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 07:54 PM   #4
Raymondo

howdy all