Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile Tile Monthly Magazine

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 01-15-2008, 02:25 PM   #1
Kompy

3cm Granite: Crack, Fissure or Both?? Pix.

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here, but maybe some of you will recognize my user name from Gardenweb's kitchen forum. I co-own a kitchen showroom and have been in the business since 1983. I can't believe this is the first time I've posted here!

So, I need some unbiased advice. I sub out my granite installations and I have an issue that I have never had to deal with before. The homeowner is not happy with one of their countertops. He says there is a crack around the cooktop cutout. I called my fabricator and they sent out their repair guy. Customer is still not happy with it, so I went out and had a look. I am not a stone pro so I am not sure what is going on with his top. If I had to take a guess, I would say it's a fissue that extended into a crack either during the cutout process, transportation or installation.

I'm posting a picture for you to see. Please let me know what you think. It is 3cm "Columbus Gold". The crack extends to the front edge of the counter, but it doesn't appear to have gone through to the underneath (unfinished) bottom of the countertop.

Thanks!
Kompy
Attached Images

Kompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-15-2008, 02:30 PM   #2
cx
da Home-builder -- Moderator-at-Large

Welcome, Kompy.

I don't know diddly about your stone problem.

We'll let it play here for a while, and if we're not getting good answers, we'll try it on a couple other of our forums.

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE! ......
cx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 02:37 PM   #3
Kompy