Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile Tile Monthly Magazine

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 08-03-2007, 12:06 PM   #1
Colfax Sue

What size grout line to use?

Hi Everyone. I'm new to this but I'm impressed by all the great advise out there. I am about two weeks away from doing my first tile job in my small bathroom. I've purchased 12x12 for the walls of my shower and 16x16 for the bathroom floor tiles. My shower pan tiles are those stone looking tiles on the mesh background so they aren't a problem.

My questions are:

1. What size grout line would you use with the 12x12 wall tiles?

2. What size grout line would you use with the 16x16 floor tiles?

3. Any opinions on whether I should go diagonal or not?? Would it be harder to go diagonal?

I know this is a preference thing and I was figuring 1/4", however, I'm thinking 1/4" looks kind of wide?? I need opinions.

Thanks for the input.
Colfax Sue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-03-2007, 12:22 PM   #2
onereelbigfishy

The grout lines are a matter of personal taste as far as the aesthetics go. As long as you know that if you get really small you will have to switch to an unsanded grout. But I dont think your going to go that small (1/8th)

The layout is personal taste too. Really just depends on what you think will look the best. And actually you can combine the two. Maybe do a square layout on the bottom. Say 4 courses. Then do a feature strip of your stone pebbles a few inches wide. Above that you could switch to a diagonal layout. I did two showers like that a while back and they looked really good. (They were 12x12 tiles too)

Just a suggestion.

As far as the floor goes I would personally go with 1/4".