Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 04-01-2007, 11:43 AM   #1
just1more

suitability of subfloor for Ditra in renovation

Hi All,

Just a quick question about best practices vs. minimum requirements when trying to match the height of a new tile installation in a 1960's house to adjacent areas of existing parquet maple flooring.

My background: I'm a flooring newbie, I've spent past few days reading through posts on this forum, I've looked at TTMAC specs, researched articles in Fine Homebuilding, visited the Schluter website, and have attended some big box store seminars on floor tiling.

My situation: our entrance hall and kitchen floors were signicantly higher than adjacent rooms (connected by openings, not doorways), because layers of flooring were applied over each other. I have just removed these layers (clay tile over 3/16" luan plywood stapled 6" o.c. and screwed 3" o.c. ((yes, I said 3" o.c.)), over layers of vinyl tile over 1/4" underlayment screwed 6" o.c., over layers of vinyl tile over 3/8" particle-board-like-stuff nailed at 6" o.c.) down to the original subfloor. The original subfloor is 5/8" plywood, nailed to the joists with ring nails, and seems to be in decent condition, apart from the occasional daub of mud left by the original drywallers. I was able to unscrew all fasteners from the subfloor (even those with shanked heads) instead of tearing them out.