Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 05-31-2006, 10:17 AM   #1
cmac2012

Admix in grout?

I did a job a while back (I'm primarily a finish carpenter, but by accident I stumbled into tiling and I keep getting jobs) putting dark granite tiles on a bathroom floor, the lady had bought some dark gray grout. I used the admix, the milky looking stuff, as I was under the impression it was recommended. The grout dried with a distinct milky, slightly whitish tinge to the color. She didn't complain too much, didn't ruin the job, but she did notice it.

I'm just finishing a kitchen backsplash of 1/2 inch black granite squares mosaic (oh man, kind of a PITA) and she has some reddish brown grout. I don't want any complaints on this one -- the money's good and they have lots of friends with $$ who remodel.

Any pros/cons to not using the admix?
cmac2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-2006, 10:37 AM   #2
bbcamp

Product names would be useful.

In general, if you are using a modified grout, and the modifiers are already in it, don't add more.

There is a phenomona called "latex migration" that may be your problem. I believe it can be fixed by scrubbing the grout with ammonia. Don't try this until one of the pros somes along and verifies it.
bbcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 03:25 PM   #3
kevjob
Licensed Remodeling GC

have you tried grout haze remover? or is it in the grout?
Old 05-31-2006, 06:02 PM   #4
Zaritile

bob, do you think a epoxy grout would be good in this instance? I try to stay away from granite.
Zaritile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 07:00 PM   #5
jspinoza

whats the best/easiest way to seal grout?