Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 11-11-2005, 03:05 AM   #1
spaceship

Feedback on new bathroom tile project

Hi all,

I'm a tiling newbie looking for feedback on a project that I'm about to start. It's a small bathroom (sink&toilet, no tub/shower), roughly 6 feet by 10 feet. The house was built in 1911, and the current flooring is subfloor (shiplap) + fir hardwood + 1/2 inch plywood + old linoleum.

The linoleum is in decent shape. Given its age, I'm assuming that it contains asbestos, so I would prefer to leave it as is, and tile over top. The floor is level, but not perfectly even. Laying a straight piece of wood on the floor i can see some deflections, but none more than 1/8".

I'm aiming for a look consistent with the age of the house, so the tile I'm going use is the non-glazed 1" hex tile in white with a few black circles placed in a regular pattern. I would also like to add a bit more interest to the room by edging it with 1" white square tile against the wall and 1" black square tile next to the white tile. Here's some ascii art in case my description isn't too clear:

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
%xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx%
%xoooooooooooooox%
%xoooooooooooooox%
%xoooooooooooooox%
%xoooooooooooooox%
%xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx%
%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

Where
% = 1 inch square white
x = 1 inch square black and
o = 1 inch hex tile

Here is what I would like to do:

- Set Ditra over linoleum using a latex/polymer modified mortar
- Set up tiling guide using 2x1s nailed down.
- Black 1" tile will go on the inside of the guide using dry set
mortar.
- Hex tiles will then go inside of the black edge
- Remove the guides and do the white 1" tile to the walls.
- Grout tile
- Seal grout & tile???

Questions: