Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 02-03-2018, 10:58 PM   #1
Jonnyhat

Wood Look Ceramic Tile on a Kitchen Countertop?

So i am a novice when it comes to laying tile and have only completed some flooring and bathroom projects however we are renovating our kitchen and were originally going to do bamboo or butchers block for a kitchen island, but we want this to match the kitchen counter as well. For the sake of durability I dont think wood is the best choice, but I think a wood look ceramic might be the best of both worlds. I am wondering if anyone has done this in a kitchen setting and what your thoughts are? Also I was wondering how to handle the reveal edge? Also do I need to do anything special around the sink? Should I cut the tile out or can I rest the sink lip on top of it? Do I need to use a special epoxy-grout since it is a kitchen counter?

I know I am probably missing a bunch of things and I would love to see pictures if this has been attempted before.
Old 02-04-2018, 07:49 AM   #2
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man

Hi Jon, welcome. Other than floors, I've used it on a couple tubsurrounds. A 3x12 bullnose was found that matched well even though it didn't have the wood grain in it. You might check the Schluter edges.

What type of sink to you have? A top set or a tile in sink are both possible.

Epoxy grout would be a good idea.

www.davystephenstile.com
Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 10:02 AM   #3
Jonnyhat

right not i just have a corian counter with a top set sink

Do I need to use backerboard if I am using 3/4" plywood as my base?