Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 11-20-2017, 07:53 PM   #1
DBSuther

34" Fiberglass Shower to 60" Tiled Shower w/Knee Wall

Hi all,

First time posting. I've found this forum to be a great reference so I decided to sign up. As the title states, I am doing a bath remodel and converting what was a fiberglass shower stall to a tiled shower w/ half wall and frame-less glass. This is my first attempt at this type of project. I am using a 32X60 Kerdi tray w/offset drain that's cut short on the back side to make room for a Kerdi 32X16" rectangle bench. I used Durock for the backer. I am on a slab and relocated my drain to match the tray. My slab is nowhere near level so I tried to use SLC to bring it in line in just the shower area of the room. I also had to add a 1/4" backer board to raise the entire substrate because I have a clamping ring drain and am using the adapter ring on my Kerdi drain. Even after all of that, I think my floor is flat enough but it is still not perfectly level. It's not off by a lot so I plan to make it up when I thinset the tray to the floor. Also, the adapter ring on the drain still sits about 1/16" inch higher than the floor. I would have to trim the foam tray a very small amount to go completely flat against the floor. I am trying to think 5 steps ahead so this is taking 10 times longer than it should.

I guess my main questions are.

1. Am I on the right track? (I ask myself this every 5 minutes as I stare at it)
2. Is it ok to trim the tray slightly to fully fit around the drain flange?
3. Is my substrate high enough for the Kerdi drain to seal properly?

Any advice,questions or criticisms are welcome!

Thanks,
Doug

Name:  20171120_200829.jpg