Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 10-22-2017, 10:27 AM   #1
Hay Chihuahua!

Cement tile around fireplace

Hello all,

The wife and I are in the planning stages of a new tile project. We aren't complete novices, having remodeled two bathrooms, kitchen, etc in a previous house. We used a lot of the info on this site to help with those projects. That said, it's been a few years and we're a bit rusty. Also, every new project comes with its own set of challenges...

Planning to tile the wall around this fireplace. The wall measures roughly 74"W x 10'H. The adjoining walls are oriented at a 45 degree angle.

We've purchased some 8" hexagonal cement tile, that's approximately 5/8" thick.

Have already demo'd the mantle and the brick on either side, and setup a ledger board with the intention of using this to set the first course and go up from there. The ledger is positioned so that the tile will overlap the top of the metal fireplace by 1". Once the majority of the tile above the ledger is set, we'd remove the ledger and tile up from the baseboard.

Questions:
1. The wall surface is not 100% flat. It flares out at the ends, making it a bit concave (as to be expected.) Can we work around this with thinset and/or back-buttering, or are we asking for trouble? Should we do something to prep the surface?

2. What type of thinset would be recommended for installing cement tile of this size directly over drywall?

3. What size notch trowel?

4. We're debating about whether or not to use some metal edging on the outside edges vs using grout. I don't know if a straight edge would make the (likely) uneven corners "pop" visually.

Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!