Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 04-02-2017, 07:54 PM   #1
Lawingnutz

Barrier Free Neo Angle Shower

I've never built a shower before. I am building a new home on a concrete foundation and want to install a barrier free shower with a trench drain. Will either build a new-angle or rectangular. The bathroom floor will be stained concrete. I want to tile the shower floor and the walls. If I block out the area of the concrete foundation where the shower will go can I drop in a KBRS or Tile Redi pan?? Should I block out down to the dirt or down something less?? The slab will be about 4" thick in that area. KBRS says they will build a custom neo-angle tile basin that is pre-sloped with a linear trench drain. Please let me know what you recommend.
Old 04-02-2017, 09:54 PM   #2
cx
da Home-builder -- Moderator-at-Large

Welcome, Billy.

Your concrete contractor should know how to properly drop a section of your slab for a shower. If he doesn't, find a different concrete contractor. The dropped area should be reinforced the same as the rest of the slab field.

I'd not consider the KBRS receptor liner at all, but that's up to you. There are good sheet-type direct bonded waterproofing membranes out there that, along with a mud base, will do the job better and for a lot less dinero.

You're still gonna have a problem doing the barrier-free design with a stained concrete floor in the bathroom. You'll have no way to waterproof the area outside the shower entry. At least none that I can think of.

Do you plan for this shower to have a door?

My opinion; worth price charged.

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2017, 11:51 PM   #3
Kman