Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 10-17-2013, 07:21 PM   #1
elduderino

Quartz Floor Tile Install - Total Noob

So I'd like to install quartz tile in my dining room. I've done as much research as I could find online about how to install it, but it still scares me. (I must DIY it, otherwise I would pay for it to be done if I had the cash) I found the 24 x 24 tile for $2.50 a sq ft at habitat for humanity restore, so I can't really beat that. Room is 185 sq ft if that matters.

From what I read, I should thin set the plywood, apply durock over it and screw it down. Tape the seams with fiberglass tape, and thin set the seams. That's what I have for the prep part.

As far as the actual install, I'm seeing I should not be using thin set, but instead being using an epoxy to lay the tiles. While I have never laid tile on a floor, my father who's helping me out has done quite a few, but all being ceramic.

Any advice or tips would be HUGELY appreciated. Even if they consist of, "Dude, you're gonna mess it all up". I'd rather know now, than when it's tool late and I'm stuck with a screwed up floor.
Old 10-17-2013, 07:44 PM   #2
cx
da Home-builder -- Moderator-at-Large

Welcome, Jeff.

First consideration is that you're dealing with a natural stone tile and you should first ensure that your floor structure and subflooring are adequate for the application. While ceramic tile installations over wood framed floors require a deflection in both joists and subfloor of L/360 or less, natural stone requires L/720 or less, a far, far more rigid floor.

And natural stone tile requires a double layer of plywood or OSB subflooring regardless the joist spacing.