Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 02-26-2013, 08:34 AM   #1
Txstack

Cracking Grout In Shower Corners

I'm a newbie to this great forum, having browsed extensively for advice as our bathroom remodels were being planned. Yall's advice has been great! I also have cracking in the corners, and where tile meets tub in my boy's newly tiled bath, completed in late November. There is no caulk there, so I obviously did not read enough of your posts to insist on that. I smelled a musty smell, which tipped me off to the problem. Should I have them remove the tiles closest to the cracks to inspect for damage/dry out before caulking? Once it's confirmed all is dry, should they re-grout, then caulk after new grout dries? I don't want to have to do this again. Thanks very much for your help.
Attached Images

Old 02-26-2013, 09:22 AM   #2
gsr

Good morning Txstack and welcome to the forum.

It's not unusual for grout in changes of plane to crack and it does not necessarily mean there are larger problems with the tile. The musty smell is troubling though. Can you tell us a bit about how your surround was constructed?

After the grout is well dried you should be able to either use a color matched caulk (100% silicon) right over the changes in plane or dig out the cracked grout and replace with caulk. Unless there is a problem with the install it should not be necessary to remove tiles.
Old 02-26-2013, 10:03 AM   #3
Txstack