Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 07-15-2012, 06:52 PM   #1
ericscottf

Redgard over joint compound?

Hi all,

I've got a shower stall made of hardibacker with thinset on mesh tape for the joints. The shower stall is completely made of hardibacker, floor to ceiling. Outside of the shower, the hardi continues for a bit, but then i transitioned to greenboard drywall, as i'll be half tiling and half painting.

Everwhere hardi is concerned, I taped with a proper hardi-tape and thinset. Only where greenboard meets greenboard (out of, and far away from the shower) did I use joint compound.

It's my first time using redgard, and I tested it thoroughly (I thought). I tried laying tile over hardi and redgard, and tile on redgard on drywall. I didn't test redgard on joint compound on greenboard.

Redgard peels right off my joint compound. I did prime properly (4:1 water to redgard mix painted over all surfaces), but it has no effect - probably because my joint compound is "dusty", that is, the top layer is a bit powdery (never been a problem with paint).

All drying times/manuf. spec/etc were followed very closely.

Two of my greenboard walls back the outside, and have no vapor barrier (long, uninteresting story), so I wanted to redgard the entire room and forget about it.

Any suggestions? What's proper procedure? I'm most interested in a solution that requires minimal disassembly, as i'm almost finished! I don't mind peeling the redgard off the joint compound and re-painting that part... If i don't have to tear out the drywall, that would be ideal, especially because I can't really use thinset to do the joints on the greenboard because I'm painting a good chunk of it.