Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 05-04-2012, 11:49 PM   #1
slowandsteady

install tile level with wood floor

I have an old shore home rehab project that was gutted and substantailly completed except for the floors. I am a beginner DIY who has taken on multiple projects when my contractor brother-in-law left me hanging (and took me broke). For this project I am trying to do my first tile install at a 6 x 6 uneven entry way with new 5/8 bamboo floor on 2 sides. The area is a first floor concrete slab but i need to raise the floor slighty so the tile will be even with the bamboo floor. I plan on installing 12x12x1/4 porcelain tile. Also this area dips in some spots about 1/2 inch. I also plan on using self leveling compound to raise and even the slab floor. My crucial question is how how high should I raise the slab to meet the bamboo allowing appropriate space for mortar? To get the 1/4 tile to 5/8 I would need a 3/8 combo of mortar and SLC but I am scared that I may pour too much SLC and not leave enough space for proper mortar. Also I'm not sure how to precisely raise my edges to be within 1/8 to 3/16 that may be required. I'm not worried about the dips - the SLC should easily take care of them. Please help.
Old 05-05-2012, 05:21 AM   #2
Executive Flooring
Installer of Tile, Hardwood, Laminate, Carpet, VCT

Keith, trying to get the SLC to the perfect height may be a bit hard. If anything go a hair lower because you can always use a bigger trowel to get the tiles to the height you need.
Old 05-05-2012, 08:46 AM   #3
jadnashua
Veteran DIYer- Schluterville Graduate