Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile Tile Monthly Magazine

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books   Buy a TYW Shirt

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 05-02-2012, 02:09 PM   #1
Celticsmiles

Tiling a Walk-In Shower

Hello everyone!!! I'm new to tiling, I've laid about 300 sf of 12x12 ceramic tile on a concrete floor and a small glass backsplash. That's the extent of my tiling experience. I've read a lot, but I'm having a hard time finding reliable info on tiling the floors and walls of a walk-in shower. I've built the shower (about 5 ft x 5ft) from the ground up. It's in a basement, with a prepitch, rubber membrane, and a final dry pack pitch on top of that. The walls are perma board (hardi back, but with styrofoam beads, lighter and easier to cut) and I'm going to coat the entire floor and walls with hydroban. That's the easy part, lol.

As for the tiling, I've picked out 12x12 tile for the walls, and matching 2x2 tiles for the floor. I'm going to spend a lot of time laying out the tiling to make sure it lays well on the wall and I think I'm going to use 1/4 in grout. My questions follow:

1) Is this a good grout size for a walk in shower?

2) Do I start with the walls or the floor? Or do I tile the walls except for the bottom row and then tile the floor and the bottom row of the tiles at that time?

3) Because of the pitch, the floor is lower in the middle of the wall then in the corners: Do I cut the tiles with a slight curve, or should I keep them straight and let the grout take care of the rest?

4) On plane changes, such as inside corners, do I use grout or caulk? I've heard both ways, and I'm leaning towards grouting if I choose epoxy grout.