Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Old 06-28-2009, 01:18 AM   #1
color caulk to use, and caulk or grout first?

Hi- I'm a newbie, working on my second tiling project. Just a simple bathroom backsplash but have a couple of questions.

1. The countertop is a fairly light colored marble (bottocino) and the backsplash tiles are rainforest green marble (I've also seen it called amazon green). My groutlines are 1/16", and I bought Custom brand "moss" non-sanded grout. Problem is, I have since learned that there is no "moss" colored caulk. So should I use something clear? Something to match the coutertop? The space between the counter and tiles is just over 1/16th inch, but less than 1/8th (I used shim shaped spacers)

2. Should I caulk between the counter and tiles first, to ensure that that space does not get grout in it?

muscat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-28-2009, 02:19 AM   #2
Potter, Contractor, Philosopher
I don't like the look of clear caulk used between tile. I would try to get something that blends in with the countertop. I usually grout first, then just clean out any grout that got in the joint were the caulk will go.
Gregg R
Muddman Design
Custom Tile, Concrete Countertops and Remodeling
St. Louis, MO

Muddman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:13 AM   #3
Moderator -- Mud Man
I would call around to a Dal tile or two to see if they have Moss caulk. I think I've used it before but it has been a while.

I do it in the same order as Gregg, grout first, then caulk but you can do the caulking first.

Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 08:04 PM   #4