Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 09-08-2017, 04:39 PM   #1
Chris in Redlands

Small Bath Complete Remodel - Questions

I have a small (5' X 9') master bath demo'd to the studs and am nearly done with relocating the drain (slab on grade), rough framing, electrical, and plumbing. The plan is for a very simple bathroom with the shower occupying the last three feet of the room, and a curb (57 inches wide) separating the shower from the rest of the bath. I have all the materials to complete the job now, and intend to lay black penny round tile on the floor of the shower and bath, and white subway tile from the floor to ceiling on all walls of the bath and shower. Simple.

My original plan was to top the shower curb with a slab of marble. I had an idea the other day though, and wanted to see if folks had thoughts about the practicality and potential pitfalls of doing it. What I'd like to do is build transitions into the floor where the curb meets the shower pre-slope and where it meets the bathroom floor. This would allow me to run the penny round tile continuously over the entire floor of the bath and shower and over the curb. I sketched a cross-section of what i had in mind over my coffee this morning. I've attached that, and a couple of photos of a sheet of the tile draped over a bottle to illustrate one of my concerns.

My questions: